Skip to content
Agentmart
Submit a tool

Zotero MCP vs Zotero MCP

Zotero MCP and Zotero MCP are both MCP servers for academic papers. Zotero MCP is published by 54yyyu and Zotero MCP by kujenga. Both run locally (stdio). Both install in Claude Code, Codex, VS Code and Cursor. On GitHub, Zotero MCP has 5,548 stars and Zotero MCP has 162. Zotero MCP was last active in Oct 2026, Zotero MCP in Aug 2026. The table lines up where they differ (publisher, GitHub stars, weekly downloads and freshness grade) and has the install commands for both. Everything here comes from the listings' public sources and is refreshed daily. Zotero MCP describes itself as: Search, read, annotate, and add to your Zotero research library, local or web. Zotero MCP: Search your Zotero library, retrieve item metadata, and read full text from AI assistants. Licenses: Zotero MCP MIT, Zotero MCP MIT.

Updated Oct 26, 2026 · Built from catalog data; how we rank and grade

Who should pick which

  • Zotero MCP has the larger community: 5,548 GitHub stars against 162.
  • Zotero MCP is more recently active (freshness A against B).

From listing data only. We don't pick a winner on security beyond the grades; read how grades work.

Side by side

FactZotero MCPZotero MCP
TypeConnectorConnector
Publisher54yyyukujenga
LicenseMITMIT
PricingNot statedNot stated
RunsLocal (stdio)Local (stdio)
AuthAPI keyAPI key
Hosts supportedClaude Code, Codex, VS Code, Cursor, Windsurf, Claude DesktopClaude Code, Codex, VS Code, Cursor, Windsurf, Claude Desktop
Tools553
Security grade–Security: not graded yet–Security: not graded yet
Freshness gradeAFreshness: ABFreshness: B
GitHub stars5,548162
Weekly downloads7,1071,154
Last releaseOct 16, 2026Aug 7, 2026
Last activityOct 16, 2026Aug 7, 2026

Facts from each listing's public sources, checked daily. Tool lists arrive with tool scans.

Install

Zotero MCP

claude mcp add zotero-mcp -- uvx zotero-mcp-server@0.15.1 serve

Settings it needs

  • ZOTERO_LOCAL · Read from the local Zotero desktop app instead of the web API. Requires Zotero 7+ with the local API enabled in Settings > Advanced.
  • ZOTERO_API_KEYsecret · Zotero Web API key from https://www.zotero.org/settings/keys. Only needed when ZOTERO_LOCAL is false, or for write operations in hybrid mode.
  • ZOTERO_LIBRARY_ID · Zotero user or group library ID. Only needed when ZOTERO_LOCAL is false, or for write operations in hybrid mode.
  • ZOTERO_LIBRARY_TYPE · Whether ZOTERO_LIBRARY_ID refers to a personal or a group library.
  • ZOTERO_MCP_TOOLSETS · Which optional tool groups to expose, as a comma-separated list. Every tool is sent to the model on each request, so optional capabilities are off by default. Use 'all' for the full surface, 'none' for core only, named groups (scite, duplicates, discovery, feeds, relations, libraries, search-admin, pdf-geometry) to add them, or a leading '-' to subtract.

Zotero MCP

claude mcp add zotero-mcp -- uvx zotero-mcp@0.3.1

Settings it needs

  • ZOTERO_LOCAL · Use the local API from the Zotero desktop app instead of the Web API. Requires Zotero to be running with 'Allow other applications on this computer to communicate with Zotero' enabled under Settings > Advanced.
  • ZOTERO_API_KEYsecret · Zotero Web API key from https://www.zotero.org/settings/keys. Not required when ZOTERO_LOCAL is true.
  • ZOTERO_LIBRARY_ID · Zotero library ID (your user ID for user libraries). Not required when ZOTERO_LOCAL is true.
  • ZOTERO_LIBRARY_TYPE · Whether ZOTERO_LIBRARY_ID refers to a user or group library.

Also consider

Questions

Is Zotero MCP or Zotero MCP more popular?
Zotero MCP has more GitHub stars (5,548 against 162). Stars measure attention, not quality, so check freshness and docs too.
Do Zotero MCP and Zotero MCP work with Claude Code?
Yes, both list a Claude Code install; the commands are on this page.
Which one runs without a local install?
Both run locally on your machine.
Cite this page

Zotero MCP vs Zotero MCP. Agent Mart. https://agentmart.dev/compare/54yyyu-zotero-mcp-vs-kujenga-zotero-mcp (last updated 2026-10-26)